I ain’t afraid o’ no ghost

With the Pac Person costume complete, it’s time to crank out some ghosts. Construction is pretty much just like the Pac Person, except there are two strands of lights instead of one. Every ghost gets a blue strand (for when it’s vulnerable) and a body color strand (red or green) for those times when it has an insatiable hunger for bloodPac Person.

Knowing that making Pac Person required about five hours to sew one strand of lights on, I decided I needed a faster approach. I set up the fancy quilting hoop – it’s an embroidery hoop on a stand. I can see the point behind it.  For quilting, where you would have a lot of stitches in one place before you have to move the fabric, it ought to be pretty good.  But for sewing lights on a piece of fabric?  I spent more time taking the fabric in and out of the hoop than I did sewing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I needed a solution. Over dinner I mentioned to Susie that what I needed was a quilting frame about five feet in diameter. About the size of the kitchen table. And that’s when she realized that the kitchen table could be a quilting frame.  We pulled the two sides apart, neglected to insert the leaves, and there you have it.  Not quite as good as having a five foot diameter frame, but close enough.  Also – if you try this at home, it’s a really good idea to sew both strands at the same time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

